add badge calendarcard check email facebook-squarefacebook fighting-extinction gift instagram-squareinstagram linkedin lock logo-healesville-inverse logo-melbourne-inverse logo-werribee-inverse logo-zv-icons logo-zv-inverse logo-zv mime-pdf phone pinterest remove tick timestwitter-squaretwitter vic-gov youtube
Werribee Open Range Zoo

Slumber Safari

Slumber Safari offers a truly memorable overnight experience for all ages. It is the ideal getaway for couples, groups, families or colleagues: an Out of Africa escape, just 30 minutes from the heart of Melbourne.

Slumber Safari brings together unique accommodation with a fully hosted experience including amazing close-up animal encounters, drinks and dips at sunset, a sumptuous dinner, awesome night-time activities including a night walk and toasting marshmallows around the evening campfire then a delicious supper of scones, jam and cream.

In the morning enjoy watching the animals on the African savannah awaken. A buffet breakfast will be served in the Safari Dining Hut as you take in the view.

Our safari camp offers an exceptional glamping (luxury camping) experience, with stunning tented lodges and creature comforts including en-suites, fans and electric blankets. The design has an authentic and earthy touch that says ‘safari’ and, with just eight tents in total, you share this amazing experience with just a few others.

For those who want to chill out and relax, you have your very own purpose-built balcony, overlooking the Werribee River and the Zoo's wonderful African savannah.

This is a fantastic overnight experience. Do something special with that someone special, treat the whole family, or organise a group. Adult-only camps are available each month and can be booked with our sales team. Slumber Safari gift vouchers are also available.

Slumber Safari includes:

  • 2 days Zoo entry
  • African-inspired dinner and buffet breakfast
  • Fully hosted safari experience
  • Animal Encounter and exclusive animal viewing opportunities
  • 15% discount in the Village Trader (Zoo shop)
  • 10% off additional Wild Encounters during  your visit.

Please note: Animal encounters may vary slightly on each Slumber Safari.

Slumber Safari is an all weather program. Please call the Sales team for more information on 1300 966 784.

Dates open for bookings in January 2017 - as of  the 30th November​ 2016

  • Sunday 8th January
  • Monday 9th January
  • Tuesday 10th January 
  • Wednesday 11th January
  • Sunday 15th January
  • Monday 16th January
  • Tuesday 17th January
  • Wednesday 18th January
  • Sunday 22nd January
  • Monday 23rd January
  • Tuesday 24th January
  • Wednesday 25th January
  • Thursday 26th January
  • Friday 27th January
  • Sunday 29th January
  • Monday 30th January (10% Discount Night!)