add angle-downbadge calendarcard check-circle-ocheck clockemail envelope-oexclamation-circleexternal-link-squareexternal-linkfacebook-squarefacebook fighting-extinction flag-checkeredgift green-check info-circleinstagram-squareinstagram linkedin lock logo-healesville-inverse Healesville Sanctuary logoCreated with Sketch. logo-melbourne-inverse Melbourne Zoo logoCreated with Sketch. logo-werribee-inverse Werribee Zoo logo CopyCreated with Sketch. logo-zv-icons logo-zv-inverse logo-zv mime-pdf minus-boulderminus-circlepencilphone pinterest plus-boulderplus-circleremove tick timestwitter-squaretwitter vic-gov youtube

Kids Receive Free Entry Policy

Zoos Victoria is pleased to advise that children under 16 years of age receive free admission to Healesville Sanctuary, Melbourne Zoo and Werribee Open Range Zoo on:

  • Weekends  
  • Victorian Public holidays
  • Victorian Government school holidays.

Please note, children under 16 must be accompanied/supervised by an adult. If they are not accompanied by an adult, they will be refused entry. 

This policy is the result of a Victorian Government initiative. Holidays dates are gazetted by the Victorian Government and are listed below for reference purposes.

 

2019 Victorian Government School Holidays

 

April 6 - April 22

June 29 - July 14

September 21 - October 6

December 21 - January 27, 2019

 

2019 Victorian Public Holidays

 

Event 2018
New Year's Day

Tuesday 1 January

Australia Day Monday 28 January 
Labour Day Monday 11 March
Good Friday Friday 19 April
Saturday before Easter Sunday  Saturday 20 April
Easter Sunday Sunday 21 April
Easter Monday Monday 22 April
ANZAC Day Thursday 25 April
Queen's Birthday Monday 10 June
Grand Final Friday Friday 27 September
Melbourne Cup Day Tuesday 5 November
Christmas Day Wednesday 25 December 
Boxing Day Thursday 26 December

 

Note: We take every care to ensure our holiday data is accurate, but please refer to the relevant Victorian Government website for updated information on school holiday dates and public holidays.